Board of Directors

At A Glance

Are you experiencing a power outage or electrical emergency? 

Please contact :

Battle River Power Coop

Toll-free: 1-877-428-3972

The West Wetaskiwin REA Board of Directors 

Chair Dean Knull was born and raised in Pipestone, Alberta and is the third generation to own and operate the family farm producing both produce and protein. Dean joined the REA in 1983 when he purchased the farm from his father.  As a member of the REA he observed and experienced the benefits this organization has on the community. Dean has been a community volunteer for many years.  He has served on the West Wetaskiwin REA board for 5 years. He is also the President of the Pipestone Community Society; served on St. Peter’s Lutheran Church’s Council; chaired and organized the Pipestone Creek Water Management project; and has been a 4-H Beef Leader for many years.

Vice-chair Ron Holmlund comes from a family with deep roots in Alberta REAs.  During the 1950s his father, John, worked to get West Wetaskiwin REA established. Currently retired, Ron brings a B Sc, a B Ed, a graduate diploma and a technical diploma as well as business experience to his Director position. He is a firm believer in a locally owned and operated electrical distribution system. The mandate of the REA to operate under a cooperative business model to deliver critical energy to rural Wetaskiwin for the least cost is a key reason he has remained active on the REA Board.

Kevin Cummings was elected to the Board at 2022 Annual General Meeting. Kevin has been a member of the West Wetaskiwin REA for 25 years and believes in the co-op model.  He has been on several different Boards and is familiar with how a co-operative works. He would like to use this opportunity to help shape the future of our electrical co-operative.


Ron Stevens was elected to the Board at the 2017 Annual General Meeting. Ron grew up on a farm in the Falun area where he worked at Falun Co-op .Education, travel and employment took him to Europe, Ontario and the U.S. With his experience in welding and carpentry that he gained locally, he became one of the founding people of the Capernwray Harbor Bible Center on Thetis Island, B.C. and was responsible for campus maintenance. His tenure also provided him the opportunity to work with a team on a rural campus in India.He met his wife, Marlene, on Thetis Island and they returned to the family farm in 1984. Currently their three grown children are the next generation starting to take over the farm operation, while he and Marlene enjoy the grandkids! Ron established Stevens Strawberries with his cousin in 1991 and he enjoys meeting people from all over the world that come to the strawberry farm. He considers it a privilege to serve his fellow REA members as a Director on the West Wetaskiwin REA Board; one that is clearly committed to keeping the REA healthy and dedicated to the cooperative model. 


Neil Stone was appointed to the Board for a one-year term. Neil was born and raised in the Pigeon Valley area and is the third generation of his family the family farm. ​ Neil’s father, Edward worked along with many other neighbors in the 1950s in establishing the West Wetaskiwin REA and building the original power lines in this community. Neil had been involved in the local 4-H Club as a leader during the years when his sons were members. Neil is now retired after 34 years working in the oilfield industry with Texaco and Imperial Oil. He worked in many positions in the Bonnie Glen gas plant facility until its closing and subsequent demolition. Presently, he continues to work part time as a field supervisor for an oilfield maintenance company while maintaining the family farm that has been in the Stone family for nearly 100 years.

Dave Watt was elected to the West Wetaskiwin REA Board at the AGM in the fall of 2020. He has been a REA member since 1986 when he purchased the family farm 3 miles west of Falun. As a Director, Dave brings expertise in the electrical and business industry. When starting out after high school, he apprenticed as an electrician and then received his Master Electrician (ME) designation. An ME recognizes the advanced knowledge of an individual in the electrician field. Dave then joined Husky Energy - Pipeline Department where he worked for 38 years. Retiring in 2018, he returned back to the family farm. With time on his hands he became very involved in the community volunteering with local groups and he took on several leadership roles including President of the Lions Club of Pigeon Lake, Director at Lakedell Ag Society and P.L.A.C.E. He is also a favorite resident in the winter as he installs and maintains ice at the Lakedell curling rink.

 Mike Wollin has resided in the Falun area for most of his life, but his employment with Simmons Drilling took him all over including work in Alberta, Saskatchewan and abroad in Australia, Costa Rica and Alaska. In 1993 he and his wife Tracey purchased their first quarter and their operation has continued to grow with Mike’s three sons assisting with the farm operation.  Mike is very active in the community and is involved in many community organizations including: Lakedell 4-H Beef Club, Lakedell Agriculture Society and the Falun Community League. Mike has been a director of the West Wetaskiwin REA since 1994, following in the footsteps of his grandfather who had been a board member for over 25 years. Being a director of the West Wetaskiwin REA Board has allowed Mike the opportunity to work with landowners, government and company officials, contractors and other REA organizations.